New Construction

New Construction

BREEAM UK New Construction - Non Domestic Buildings UK

Improving the UKs built environment

BREEAM UK New Construction is used to improve, measure and certify the social, environmental and economic sustainability of new buildings.

This is achieved through the integration and use of the technical standard by clients and their project teams at key stages in the design and construction process. BREEAM New Construction addresses the major sustainability issues that arise when constructing a new building against key categories as described on the Home Page.

Depending upon the title name for each category, issues such as acoustic performance, construction site impacts and responsible sourcing of materials amongst many other issues are addressed. The assessment of the project against these issues enables the client, through the BREEAM Assessor and the BRE Global certification process, to measure, evaluate and reflect the performance of their new building against best practice in an independent and robust manner. To learn more about how to carry out an assessment, please visit our Training and Certification page.

BREEAM New Construction Infrastructure (Pilot) - UK

BREEAM New Construction Infrastructure (pilot) is a performance based assessment method and certification scheme for new infrastructure assets. It aims to mitigate the life cycle impacts of new infrastructure assets on the environment and enhance positive social and economic impacts.

The technical standard for the United Kingdom is based on the international version but additionally refers to standards and best practice in the UK. The contribution of each environmental category similarly reflects the relevance and potential to address each of these in the UK.

We are operating this pilot for a period to verify the application of the BREEAM criteria to different types and scales of project. For further information on our Infrastructure scheme please refer here.

Home Quality Mark - HQM

The sign of a better home

The Home Quality Mark (HQM) has been created to serve the UK’s house builders and the householders who buy and rent new homes.

HQM will help house builders to demonstrate the high quality of their homes and to differentiate them in the marketplace. At the same time, it will give householders the confidence that the new homes they are choosing to buy or rent are well designed and built, and cost effective to run.  

The Home Quality Mark will do this by providing impartial information from independent experts on a new home's quality. It clearly indicates to householders the overall expected costs, health and wellbeing benefits, and environmental footprint associated with living in the home. In short, HQM helps everyone to fully understand the quality, performance and attributes of a new-build home.

Developed by BRE, the UK's leading building science centre, the Home Quality Mark is based on years of building standards experience, and is part of the successful BREEAM portfolio of quality and sustainability standards.

Code for Sustainable Homes

BREEAMs relationship with the UK Government owned Standard 

The Code for Sustainable Homes, launched in 2007 is an environmental assessment method for rating and certifying the performance of new homes. It was developed by BRE Global, but it is a UK Government owned standard.

BRE Global act as advisors on technical issues relating to maintenance and development of the technical contents of the CSH standard and manage implementation of the scheme through assessment and certification services, under contract to the Department of Communities and Local Government (DCLG).

Where is the CSH required?

For anyone wishing to understand when to apply the Code for Sustainable Homes to their development, please refer to our Frequently Asked Questions on the Housing Standards Review here.

Scope and Scoring

 The CSH covers nine categories of sustainable design:

  • Energy and CO2 emissions (M),
  • Water (M),
  • Materials (M),
  • Surface Water Run-off (M),
  • Waste (M),
  • Pollution,
  • Health and Wellbeing (M),
  • Management,
  • Ecology.

There are mandatory performance requirements in 6 categories (denoted by an M above). All other performance requirements are flexible. It is possible to achieve an overall level of between zero and six depending on the mandatory standards and proportion of flexible standards achieved.


Assessments are carried out in two phases:

  1. An initial assessment is carried out at the design stage. This is based on detailed documentary evidence and commitments which results in an interim certificate of compliance.
  2. Final assessment and certification is carried out at the post construction stage. Based on the design stage review, this includes a confirmation of compliance, including site records and visual inspection, and results in a final certificate of compliance.
Learn more

BREEAM Data Centres

For Buildings that Store Digital Information

Our BREEAM Data Centres technical standard can be used to assess buildings that consist predominantly of data halls with associated function areas. Typically any space containing banks of data storage equipment, such as computer servers, plus any associated support spaces such as switch rooms, UPS rooms, battery rooms. The primary function of the building must be the physical or virtual storage, management, and dissemination of data and information. The data halls and any related plant space should make up a significant majority (>75%) of the floor area of the building. Where this is not the case advice can be sought from BREEAM on the use of this technical standard.

Return to top