BREEAM Awards Categories

BREEAM Champions Award

The BREEAM Champions Awards reward organisations that put strong sustainable performance at the heart of their work philosophy and practices – using BREEAM to facilitate this and to drive continual improvement. The shortlists for each category comprise both small and larger organisations with the highest overall BREEAM assessment performances over the last three years.

Professional Champion Award – Architect

Professional Champion Award – M&E Engineer

GRESB/BREEAM Awards for Responsible Real Estate Investment

The shortlists in the large and small portfolio categories are drawn from GRESB members who have the highest number of assets with sustainable building certification, based on percentage coverage and total number of assets. This is subject to a minimum of at least 75% of the portfolio holding sustainable building certification.

GRESB/BREEAM Award for Responsible Investment Large Portfolio

GRESB/BREEAM Award for Responsible Investment Small Portfolio


Individual Leadership

Recognises individuals who have demonstrated strong leadership and commitment in the field of sustainable development, and personally championed the cause of responsible real estate investment. The final winner in this category will be decided by a public vote

Assessor Awards

The presentation of Assessor Awards is based on the highest average BREEAM assessment scores over the previous calendar year, subject to a minimum number of assessments. There is one award for Assessor Company of the Year, and three for individuals as Assessors of the Year. The organisation and individuals listed below have each achieved constantly high scores under BREEAM.

Assessor Organisation of the Year

Assessors of Year

Regional Awards

The regional awards aim to recognise the achievements of projects within significantly differing economic, social and cultural regions. They allow for local recognition of excellence in relation to the regional context where market changers might not be recognised at a global level.

Regional Awards – Western Europe

Regional Awards – Central and Eastern Europe

Regional Awards – Asia

Regional Awards – Americas

BREEAM Project Awards


Represented by a wide range of commercial buildings across three countries, this category has a number of impressive shortlisted projects in which performance and impact have been successfully delivered in practice


Commercial project – Design Stage Award

Commercial project – Post Construction Award

Commercial project – In-Use award

Public Sector Project

The public awards are for projects supporting community and societal services,

such as government, health, education and justice, including closely related commercially driven projects.

Public Sector Project – Design Stage Award

Public Sector Project – Post Construction Award

Public Sector Project – In-Use award


This shortlist comprises highly complex projects in urban contexts, all aiming to deliver homes with a focus on comfort and sustainable living.

Homes – Design Stage Award

Homes – Post Construction Award

Director’s Award

As BREEAM Director I spend a lot of time talking to a wide range of stakeholders both in the UK and Internationally. These conversations not only help to strengthen our brand and services in these markets, but I get an opportunity to hear first-hand how BREEAM is driving change around the world. Some of these individuals are senior representatives of their organisations having a global influence other are playing a very active role as long standing local assessors and advocates of BREEAM. This award is given by me personally to someone who I feel needs to be recognised for their achievements and leadership for BREEAM over the past 12 months. ⁠— Dr Shamir Ghumra, BREEAM Director

Your BREEAM Award

Vote for your favourite building from the 2020 Awards shortlist for the Your BREEAM category.